New Obsession: LUSH Face Masks

Before I begin tonight’s post I just wanted to put it out there that my return to Better Than Narnia won’t be all product reviews, I promise! I’ll start back up with the style posts and the thrift store adventures soon, just with graduate school and work it’s been hard for me to physically go out and thrift – much easier to online shop and have things sent to my house! Until my style posts get rolling, here are my thoughts on LUSH face masks. 

I never considered myself a high maintenance type of woman. I hate getting my nails done, I LOATHE pedicures and getting my haircut has always seemed like such a chore instead of something exciting (unless of course I’m going teal). My makeup routine takes long enough so my shower is limited to shampoo, conditioner, soap, sometimes shaving and that’s it, a quick in and out. Blow drying my hair makes my arms tired and straightening my hair needs a fast-forward button. Let’s just say when it came to things like face masks and cucumbers on the eyes I wasn’t a fan. Until I discovered LUSH masks that it.

I always wanted to try something from there. I had been in the store a dozen times, sticking my fingers in the weird concoctions and smelling the bath bombs, but I never actually bought anything until a few weeks ago. I was having a rough weekend and did some retail therapy with my two friends who suggested the mask to me and so it began.

*Warning Awkward Photo* Mask of Magnaminty on the left and Catastrophe Cosmetic on the right.

*Warning Awkward Photo* Mask of Magnaminty on the left and Catastrophe Cosmetic on the right.

So far I have tried two masks, the Mask of Magnaminty, which is a deep cleanser of China clay and fresh peppermint that exfoliates your face, and Catastrophe Cosmetic which is a fresh blueberry clay mask that needs to be refrigerated. See below for website descriptions.

Mask of Magnaminty isn’t technically a daily ‘facial wash’; it’s actually a deep cleansing face and back mask. China clay and fresh peppermint reach deep down to pull the debris from your pores, giving you that delightful tingly-clean sensation. We add loads of aduki beans to exfoliate flaky or dry skin, vanilla absolute to calm redness and honey to soothe. Our inventors created Mask of Magnaminty to be the ‘ultimate face mask’, intense but not harsh or abrasive on the skin. We recommend using Mask of Magnaminty weekly to keep the skin in good condition.

Catastrophe Cosmetic prevents disasters by taking regular care of your skin with a deep-cleansing, nutrient-rich blueberry mask. The little blue bulbs are packed with vitamins, and blended into calamine, rose absolute and chamomile blue oil to soothe redness, irritation and cleanse the skin without stripping it of its natural oils. This one is wonderfully soothing on sensitive skin. Treat your face to Catastrophe Cosmetic as often as you can to keep your skin looking its best.

$24.95 for 11.1 oz

$24.95 for 11.1 oz

I LOVE the Magnaminty mask so so so so much. I have used it probably every two days, yes going overboard here, but my skin has never looked fresher or brighter. It makes makeup application so smooth and the tiny lines on my face from lack of sleep and stress are pretty much non-existent.

I originally bought the smaller size, 4.4oz for $13, and I have gotten about six or seven face masks out of that tiny pot with  around two or three more to go. If you want to try it but don’t want to commit to the larger size, go for the smaller one. I promise you’ll get your money’s worth.

The texture of this mask isn’t creamy, it’s thick and you kind of have to pat it on instead of smearing it on.

$7 for 2.1oz

$7 for 2.1oz

The other one, Catastrophe Cosmetic, was one I have been wanting to try for a few weeks now. It’s a fresh mask, unlike the Magnaminty, and has to be refrigerated on account of it being made with fresh blueberries. It sells out almost as soon as they make it, so I was lucky that my boyfriend stopped in to pick me up a pot after work and they had one left!

This one is a lot creamier than the previous one (because it’s not an exfoliator, duh). It hardens like the other masks but it turns white and starts to crumble when it’s time to wash it off. Definitely tightens your pores and left my skin feeling really soft and soothed. This pot is super tiny, even tinier than the smallest Magnaminty, but I’m guessing you could get about three to five masks out of one pot.

So why am I so about these masks? Well, I don’t have any acne or blackheads. I’m pretty fortunate not to be plagued by skin problems. I get a pimple maybe twice a year if that. My skin issues are dry skin, occasional redness, fine lines and a very faint scar I have on my lower jawline from a long boarding accident a few years ago. In the past few weeks since doing a routine face mask after taking off my makeup, I’ve noticed huge improvements in my skin’s texture, color and the scar that has occasional sensitivity issues is now almost non-existent. Worth the price? YES. My sensitive skin can’t handle a lot of the drugstore brand masks and the kind that it can handle isn’t much cheaper than the LUSH versions.

Thumbs up all around. Keep up the great work LUSH! 

Leave a Reply

