Fashion Truck Rally with BOC

Today’s weather was perfect for the first ever Fashion Truck Rally put on by Boulevard of Chic. Think food truck rally, except replace hotdogs, beer and falafel with necklaces, dresses, and hats. I had the pleasure of being a guest blogger for the event and I was able to meet so many new people (and acquire some new closet pieces for summer!). The event was held in the empty lot in front of Digital Harbor High School, a few blocks down from the AVAM and around the corner from Federal Hill on Key Highway.

So what did I see?

First, thanks Andrew for giving me a ride there!

First, thanks Andrew for giving me a ride there!

Tracey Beale's handmade boho jewelry designs caught my eye.

Tracey Beale’s handmade boho jewelry designs caught my eye right away.

Tracey Beale's handmade boho jewelry designs caught my eye.

Tracey Beale’s handmade boho jewelry designs caught my eye.

From the inside of one of the trucks. It's a closet on wheels!

From the inside of one of the trucks. It’s a closet on wheels!

Welcome signs were everywhere!

Welcome signs were everywhere!

Loved.

Loved.

Also loved.

Also loved.

Hey there.

Hey there.  Skirt, Wet Seal, $5, Top, Forever 21, $30, Hat, Soundgarden, $15, Camera, Canon

Something for everyone in all the trucks

Something for everyone in all the trucks

:)

🙂

The best earrings.

The best earrings.

Meow!

Meow!

Glass beaded jewelry

Glass beaded jewelry

Mi madre checking out some scarves.

Mi madre checking out some scarves.

Summertime is anything but sad.

Summertime is anything but sad.

Fashion on the Go

Fashion on the Go

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Pichardo, the EcoChic Boutique

A mirror selfie because who wouldn't in that mirror?

A mirror selfie because who wouldn’t in that mirror?

All the jewels!

All the jewels!

 

Two places really stood out to me that I ended up purchasing some pieces from. My car got towed a few days ago ($300 for towing my car TWO blocks and for parking in the impound lot for TEN MINUTES, so when they say 4-6pm no parking and you’re there at 4:01 – yes, my ticket says 4:01pm on it, don’t expect your car to be there when you come back) so I should have been watching my funds since your friendly journalists are typically on a tight budget. Thanks to my Nan and Mom who bought me some awesome jewelry pieces and well, myself, who bought the best pair of festival shorts.

*****

Street Boutique had some great accessories as well as clothing pieces for summer time that were light weight and airy.

Those leopard print ones were great.

Those leopard print ones were great.

**Squee**

**Squee**

Adorable inside.

Adorable inside.

Yes.

Yes. I definitely bought these for $35

Another place that caught my eye immediately was Found Wanderer Jewels by Kacey Royer. I love boho and natural jewelry, especially crystals and druzy stones.

Found Wanderer Jewels

Found Wanderer Jewels

Swoon

Swoon

Two friends got matching rings

Two friends got matching rings

 

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

My nan and mom bought these pieces for me as early birthday presents. Thanks guys! All jewelry was really reasonably priced, definitely check it out.

******

With the rising popularity of clothing trucks in the city, I’m really hoping that it’ll be a constant thing instead of just another fad that people go to. It’s really great to not have to go to the mall or chance it by ordering online. If you’ve been following me awhile, you know that I love one of a kind pieces – clothing trucks are the in-between of thrift stuff and new stuff because many of them feature both.

Look for these lovely ladies when you’re out and about!

Street Boutique
Urban Pearl
Side Dish
Curvy Chix Chariot
Pichardo
The Thread Truck
Mobile Hobo

* If we talked and you don’t see your name on here, please don’t hesitate to let me know!! It’s been a hectic day and I want to make sure all of those that I stopped and talked to are included in my coverage. 

** This was shot on my iPhone 5S with an Ollo Clip lens attachment. You can get one from Amazon for $80.

*** To see my weekend’s coverage of the Baltimore Tattoo Convention and the M3 Festival please check out the Weekend Review section in the Baltimore Sun on Monday or Tuesday.

**** LASTLY, I also shot this event in film with my Canon A-1. Look out for those photos this week! My film blog, otherwise known as my main blog, will also have some new things in store. Visit it here! 

Happy 3 months to Better Than Narnia!

Happy 3 months to Better Than Narnia!

Bye!

Bye!

 

12 responses to “Fashion Truck Rally with BOC

  1. Fabulous event! Loved the Urban Pearl found a lovely band for the finger on my hand 😀 also on the 50% rack a mustard colored blouse and a pretty little grey dress.. Thanks mom for paying for the little grey dress! Further down another truck found the feather earrings, sadly can’t remember the name of the boutique, but what fun!! They made me smile and , woohoo, only $5 .. Looking forward to the next Fashion Truck Show. Keep us posted ! As always , Kait, love reading your blog 😀

  2. The Iphone lens sounds (and looks) intriguing! I am very low tech, and my photos don’t look close to my ideal at all! I am not great in the camera department, but I do have an eye for what looks good—your photography is nice 🙂

    Rachel
    http://alamodest.com

Leave a Reply

