Savers – Expert Level Treasure Hunting

I realized the other day that I hadn’t done a post on one of my most favorite thrift spots – Saver’s. Now, I know when you guys envision the places I thrift at you’re thinking of chic looking bohemian boutiques where everything is right in your face as soon as you walk in. A lot of the places I’ve posted about so far have been cute little underground shops that you’d find in Teen Vogue or on some famous blogger’s go-to list. To be honest though, some of the best stuff takes some digging and hunting. In a *real* thrift shop – note, not *vintage* shop because using the word vintage just means the same thing as thrift a lot of the time it just sounds more trendy and elusive – a lot of the items are mixed together, so much so that you can find great women’s stuff in the men’s section and vice versa or you can find your size hidden in the opposite of where you think it would be.

I know how daunting this looks.

I know how daunting this looks.

Here are some results from today’s quick trip to my local Saver’s. I was in there for about forty minutes, maybe less, and found enough stuff to make two outfits.

Peach tunic top. Size 2XL but if you don't discriminate against sizes you'll realize that you can wear larger ones in different ways. This can be belted or worn as a loose dress on me.

Peach tunic top. Size 2XL but if you don’t discriminate against sizes you’ll realize that you can wear larger ones in different ways. This can be belted or worn as a loose dress on me. $3

Long lightweight grey sweater - $5, ripped denim shorts - $7, lime green raincoat - $7

Long lightweight grey sweater – $5, ripped denim shorts – $7, lime green raincoat – $7

Handmade shell necklace - $2

Handmade shell necklace – $2

Toy camera that I haven't figured out yet - $3

Toy camera that I haven’t figured out yet – $3

Pastel green raincoat - $7

Pastel green raincoat – $7

Together I spent $28 for everything. Not too bad. Sometimes when you get a lot of your basic stuff thrifting it doesn’t make spending the $$$ on big ticket items like shoes or bags or whatever it is that you’ve been eyeing up. Try digging around next time you’re at a thrift store like this one – you may find your next favorite outfit.

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Savers – Expert Level Treasure Hunting

Leave a Reply

