eBay: How-To & Haul

Along with thrift stores and consignment shops another favorite place of mine to look for good deals (and weird pieces) is eBay. I put off using eBay for the longest time, the process just seemed really daunting and scary to me. Bidding? What’s bidding? Is it a fight to the death? Kinda. A lot of you have been asking me for help! Here’s some tips and tricks to use and close your deal when eBaying:

– Make a username and make sure your profile is updated. I forgot to change my shipping address once and it caused all kinds of confusion.

– Whenever you buy something LEAVE FEEDBACK. It’s very important because leaving feedback helps others know what sellers are safe to buy from and which ones are not reliable. Once the bid has ended and the estimated delivery date of the purchased item has passed eBay will prompt you to leave feedback. You simply rate the questions they ask you on a scale of stars and have the option to write two sentences about your experience.

– Stars are important. Always look at a seller’s star count. Stars are given on a rating scale, so +1 point for every positive rating and a -1 for every negative rating.

Here's a breakdown of the star colors and what they mean.

Here’s a breakdown of the star colors and what they mean.

Obviously the higher the color star the seller has the more reliable and better of a store they are. Some stores only operate on eBay, so that is why some may have a lot more business than others.

– Does the seller check out ok? Cool. Now you need to go make a PayPal account. Paypal is simply the transaction middleman between you and the person you are buying from. PayPal transmits money from your account to their account so neither one of you see the other’s personal banking information. It’s also cool because you don’t have to type in your bank information every time you buy – PayPal keeps it stored.

– All set up? Ok cool. Now it’s time to bid! If you are eyeing up an item that still has a few days left before the auction ends you might want to hold off on bidding. With each bid, the price goes higher. Your goal is to keep it as low as possible. A lot of people will wait until the very last minute to place a bid in the hopes that the person they are bidding against (if there is someone) won’t have time to top their bid. I typically wait until the last couple SECONDS to type in my bid and the very last fewย seconds to hit confirm. That way no one has time to top you and you’ll win.

– Don’t like the whole stressful process of bidding? I don’t blame you. Good thing eBay has aย “Buy It Now” button. Many shops will put items up for sale for a set price and you can buy it right there and then.

What have I found on eBay? AWESOME THINGS. This is my loot from February.

Minnetonka "Cowboy" Hat. Beaten leather, super sturdy. Perfect for festivals and travel.  Retails for $125 but got it off of ebay for $14.

Minnetonka “Cowboy” Hat. Beaten leather, super sturdy. Perfect for festivals and travel.
Retails for $125 but got it off of ebay for $14.

Free People Trapeze Slip in Olive. Perfect for layering or wearing alone. Silk/lace. Retails $90, got for $45

Free People Trapeze Slip in Olive. Perfect for layering or wearing alone. Silk/lace.
Retails $90, got for $45

Detail.

Detail.

Hand tooled leather bag. Woman said she picked it up in a Texas shop back in 1962.  Bought for $29. So soft!

Hand tooled leather bag. Woman said she picked it up in a Texas shop back in 1962.
Bought for $29. So soft!

Detail. Has some signs of wear but I mean, it is over forty years old.

Detail. Has some signs of wear but I mean, it is over forty years old.

Hollister suede leather fringe vest. Retails for $100 got it for $25.

Hollister suede leather fringe vest. Retails for $100 got it for $25. I looked everywhere for this in stores and couldn’t find it. I think it may be a limited make.

Detail.

Detail.

Minnetonke Knee High Boots. Retails $125 got them for $50.

Minnetonke Knee High Boots. Retails $125 got them for $50. I like these because I have skinny legs and the calf width is perfect…not too big or too tight.

Detail

Detail

Search words I used to find items above: handmade bag, tooled leather bag, free people dress, slip dress, cowboy hat, leather hat, festival hat, fringe boots, suede boots, red vest, leather vest, suede vest, fringe

You don’t always have to be super specific! Maybe you’ll find something awesome by being more broad than you intended.

Made out pretty well even though I did go a wee bit overboard. All this stuff will be in my bag for Bonnaroo this year – just bought my ticket – so I hope to see some of you guys there! That vintage bag is probably my favorite.

3 responses to “eBay: How-To & Haul

  1. I love ebay but I get addicted so I have to stay off for a while. These are great finds. I always try to find the stuff with free shipping too. I love that bag. For some reason I think stiff and hard when i hear hand tooled. I’m so glad you said it is soft. I may now purchase a hand tooled leather item

    • It’s really soft! I was surprised. eBay is so addicting – this was my first month on it and I have already made myself stop for awhile. I can live vicariously through others. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: BeachTrip OOTD | Better Than Narnia·

Leave a Reply

