What It’s Like When I Go Hunting

Decided to take advantage of my day off today and try to find some cool treasures. I usually have to go alone since everyone else has “normal” jobs – usually leaves me a lot of free time to mosey around by myself. Turns out the nice weather brought out all the cool pieces. Found a lot of bracelets I liked as well as some bags and dresses. I ended up leaving with a bag full of stuff that inspired me to gear up for festival season which is right around the corner. With the announcement of Bonnaroo 2014 last night, I’m all ready to pack my suitcase for four days of dust and music. Let the countdown begin!

Saw this and I was like "errrrr! stop!"

Saw this and I was like “errrrr! stop!”

Then I went inside.

Then I went inside.

Lots of nice leather bags and vintage belts.

Lots of nice leather bags and vintage belts.

And all of the fringe!

And all of the fringe!

Seflie in this old ass mirror.

Seflie in this old ass mirror.

Stores that sell vintage and antiques are so pretty inside.

Stores that sell vintage and antiques are so pretty inside.

So with all this stuff what did I actually buy? Well I gave myself a limit of $50 and only passed it by $5 so I think I did pretty well. I like to give myself limits because it makes the hunt more fun – and helps stop impulse buying which I have a real problem with. All shops were found in Hampden, though I didn’t take down any names. Find them yourselves! That’s half the fun. If you’ve ever wanted to know what it looks like when I go thrifting, here ya go.

Vintage fringe suede bag from 1970's.

Vintage fringe suede bag from 1970’s.

I've been looking for a color like this forever. I plan to add some stones and feathers to it.

I’ve been looking for a color like this forever. I plan to add some stones and feathers to it.

Turquoise bracelet from someone's estate sale that ended up in the shop. I was instantly smitten.

Turquoise bracelet from someone’s estate sale that ended up in the shop. I was instantly smitten.

Old amber bangle.

Old amber bangle. Looks nice against the previous bracelet.

Cameos make me swoon. Good ones are hard to come by, especially in bracelet form. This dresses up just a plain tee and jeans.

Cameos make me swoon. Good ones are hard to come by, especially in bracelet form. This dresses up just a plain tee and jeans.

Yes, this is a Storm Trooper toy necklace I got from a vintage/collector's shop. It was earrings but the girl turned it into a necklace for me.

Yes, this is a Storm Trooper toy necklace I got from a vintage/collector’s shop. It was earrings but the girl turned it into a necklace for me.

More to come tomorrow or Saturday πŸ™‚

Someone likes all the new stuff.

Someone likes all the new stuff.

Cats don't need purses Cassyus.

Cats don’t need purses Cassyus.

 

5 responses to “What It’s Like When I Go Hunting

  1. WOW you’ve done it again! Very impressive! Great selfie photo πŸ™‚ My fav in the jewelry is the turquoise bracelet…. if you ever find another….let me know LOL I’ll buy it from you! Love the purse,can’t wait to see it with the stones and feathers! Your kitty coo is a great model πŸ™‚ cute.

  2. Fab finds. Shaun and I looked in one shop across from frijoles but there wasn’t a lot of time to really find some cool stuff. I did see some really cool huge old ornate wooden frames though. Not sure of the name but plan to go back. Love treasure hunting. I could hunt for hours and just be satisfied with browsing. But when that special something catches my gaze it’s a buy.

Leave a Reply

