Jewelry Brands to Keep an Eye On

I do a lot of my jewelry shopping online through social media. Sounds odd but if you think about it, a lot of newer companies that specialize in handmade products are small and just starting out, so they may not have websites or advertising yet. The next best thing is to post photos on Instagram or on blogs and let the word of mouth way of advertising work for you. I like it this way because it really gives it more of a personal feel. I’ve been scouting for my favorite brands and I’ve compiled them all here on one list for you guys to check out. I’d much rather pay an extra $10 for pieces that are handmade by someone who loves the art of creation than by some factory. My style in jewelry is more bohemian than diamonds but, hey, I wouldn’t refuse them πŸ˜‰

Barbara C Pellegrino of BCP Jewelry
She made me a green druzy star ring a year ago and I’ve been hooked ever since. Her pieces are made with rocks, shark teeth, crystals, metal and other beautiful presents from the Earth. Her prices are moderate but each piece is completely unique and independent of others.

Photo courtesy of http://www.bcpjewelry.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.bcpjewelry.com

photo by Fay Baldwin, courtesy of http://www.bcpjewelry.com

photo by Fay Baldwin, courtesy of http://www.bcpjewelry.com

photo courtesy of http://www.bcpjewelry.com

photo courtesy of http://www.bcpjewelry.com

Green Druzy star ring.

Green Druzy star ring.

Renee D’Aprile of The Sea Witches Treasure
I have two pieces from Renee. One time I told her just to make me something amazing and holy crap, I got the neatest necklace ever. Her prices are moderate and similar to the first shop but her pieces are made on a beach in Australia, cleansed by the ocean water and sunlight.

Custom piece made for me.

Custom piece made for me.

Custom piece made for me. Orange quartz.

Custom piece made for me. Orange quartz.

Brooke Larson of Salt on The Rocks
Salt on the Rocks is amazing because the jewelry is crafted from plastic debris found in the waters of Hawaii. Cleaning up litter and turning it into jewelry…I can’t think of a more awesome way to go green.

Corina Brown of Wild and Free Jewelry
This shop is like a breath of fresh air with their nature based creations. Their jewelry is crafted with lovely quality and their headbands make a statement for any outfit.

Martha Rotten
I found this brand at at festival – can’t remember which – and thought they were so eerily awesome. I’ll admit, I’m a fan of the dark and creepy, always have been, and this jewelry combines just that with a dash of style. All handmade.

The Uncommon Wren
Beautiful handmade jewelry that also shows the finer side of things. Probably the most expensive of the list but also the most beautiful.

 

I plan to keep adding to this list! So check this post every so often to see new brands. If you like this look and don’t want to spend the money for handcrafted pieces (even though supporting artists is awesome!) Forever21, Brandy Melville and NastyGal are my favorite places to go for unique pieces believe it or not.

Pieces from Forever 21 all under $5.

Pieces from Forever 21 all under $5.

Nasty Gal ring $7

Nasty Gal ring $7

Cross, wrap and skull bracelets are all from Brandy Melville. $5-$12.

Cross, wrap and skull bracelets are all from Brandy Melville. $5-$12.

One last place to get unique jewelry is from vintage stores and antique shops. It’s not all ugly I swear. Sometimes you can find amazing stuff. A shop I recently found,Β Therp Sajik Enterprises, specializes in novelty jewelry from Cracker Jack boxes, quarter machines, antique stores, etc. Pretty quirky stuff if you’re into that.

Steer Skull ring from 1970's Cracker Jack Box, $7

Steer Skull ring from 1970’s Cracker Jack Box, $7

Know anyone in Baltimore who hand makes their own jewelry? Send them on over.

9 responses to “Jewelry Brands to Keep an Eye On

Leave a Reply

