Thank You & Tattoo

Just a quick post to say that I’m so thankful and appreciative of all of the amazing feedback I’ve received from you guys since beginning this blog. It’s been almost two weeks since the very first post and the stats for readers, tags, likes, comments and daily views are a lot higher than I would have expected so early on. Bravo! It took weeks for me to break a few thousand on my main blog, so this is extra exciting for me.

I’ve decided that I want to make this more than just a side project and keep it running parallel to my photography blog with an equal number of posts per week, if not more. It’s really great how everyone has been commenting and actually reading what I type – I don’t sit here for two hours for nothin’. It’s been a real challenge having to put myself in front of the camera lens but I think I’m getting less awkward about it as the posts go on. I can’t wait until the weather gets warmer and I can do features on locals who share my same love of thrifting ย aka YOU.

I’ve also decided that I want to give updates every two weeks on how my blog is doing because that is directly correlated to you guys – I think it’d be nice to view me (the writer) and you (the reader) as equals in this whole blogging thing because in my experience the most successful blogs are operative on an equality basis. Kind of a no brainer, right? Too many blogs don’t do that in my opinion. It’s kind of like me giving back to everyone for being so responsive all the time.

Most importantly, I’m really, really enjoying the emails and comments I receive after someone reads my blog and then goes and finds something awesome for themselves. It makes me happy that this blog led you in a positive direction in finding something that makes you feel good about yourself. I had a handful of people tell me about all of the great pieces they picked up at Express and Uptown as well as the few that found a great pair of glasses after testing out the Warby Parker’s.ย You’ve all been a very inspiring and receptive bunch.

So yeah, thank YOU! Thank you for reading, commenting, giving feedback, giving suggestions and for just simply viewing.

Here’s a funny thing I found while going through my Macbook Photo Booth roll:

I was shopping on Etsy one day when I came across these fake tattoos. I have several, four to be exact, real ones but I've been toying with the idea of getting a forearm tattoo so I decided to try a temporary one in that spot.

I was shopping on Etsy one day when I came across these fake tattoos. I have several, four to be exact, real ones but I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a forearm tattoo so I decided to try a temporary one in that spot.

Fox.

Fox. You just put it on with warm water, just like the ones you wore as a kid.

Little fox.

Little fox.

This is me being judgmental and laughing at people with fake tattoos but I quickly found out that they're pretty neat when you are a person who can't commit.

This is me being judgmental and laughing at people with fake tattoos but I quickly found out that they’re pretty neat when you are a person who can’t commit.

I thought this was a quirky thing to try – grown up temporary tattoos. They are made by an illustrator from Michigan, and you can check out her shop here.ย Now, my real tattoos are a mix of some with meaning and some with no meaning. It was neat to just try one out in such a visible spot for a day or so.

Temporary tatts made by illustrator Kelly Gazdowicz.

Temporary tatts made by illustrator Kelly Gazdowicz.

Kelly’s shop is fun but there are also so many other illustrators who also dabble in temporary tattooing. Tattoos are for life, so be sure to take one for a test drive before you commit to it. Regardless, supporting other artists, even if it’s buy buying a little tattoo, is awesome and everyone should do it.

Leave a Reply

