First Day of Spring Semester

Today is the last first day of my undergrad career. I’ve been saying that for the past two spring semesters actually but this time I really mean it guys. I planned to wear a ball gown to celebrate the date but it was too cold outside so I opted for something warmer.

Here's a building of my school. Most of the campus looks like Hogwarts I think, the newer buildings not so much but it's mostly Hogwarts.

Here’s a building of my school. Most of the campus looks like Hogwarts I think, the newer buildings not so much but it’s mostly Hogwarts.

Finger.

Finger.

I’m a journalism & new media (that just means basically blogging, social media and internet domination) major so I typically wear the same type of stuff to work as I wear to class. I wore sweatpants a handful of times to class my freshman year and I’m just going to put it out there – it looks really, really sloppy when you do that. Personally, whenever I wore sweatpants to class I never really got into the mindset of being awake. To be honest, I didn’t really care about what people thought but the older I get the more I realize you should care, at least a little bit.

Disclaimer: If it’s a snowstorm, raging weather, you have a migraine, have awful cramps, etc etc I totally understand the sweatpants thing. But with that being said, when it comes to those types of variables I just stay home. ๐Ÿ˜€

Waking up and putting together an outfit for the day gets me in the “do work” mode and it helps me focus. I call it the “Chanel Espresso”….just kidding, I don’t wear Chanel. Yoga pants I’ll do sometimes but I have to have a denim jacket/scarf/cute shoes combo with them. It’s a proven fact that how you dress directly effects how people respond to you (duh) and when you dress like you care, people will care about what you have to say.

Anyways, today’s outfit isn’t super exciting. It just makes me look like I know how to dress myself and not look too over eager to be back at school (even though I am secretly excited). I saw a girl in a belly shirt today – where I am it is currently 35 degrees outside. Trends are cool and all but there’s a time and place for everything and today belly shirts have no time or place.ย I never understood why people dress up for the first day of school. Heels, tons of makeup, trendy outfit, purse that is cute but too small to actually fit anything, etc. Doing that makes you set the standard way too high for yourself. Calm down. School isn’t real life, it’s just school. I did it before and learned real quick how stupid I looked.

The point of outfits for me is that I need to be able to go from class, to an assignment, to a meeting with minimal changing. This outfit could work for both in class and on assignment but would also work perfect for a meeting if I threw a button down on under the sweater. Journalism is a really quick industry, so you always have to have your shit together.

Hiiiii. Andrew is at work right now so I have to take selfies in order to have visuals here. Remote wouldn't fire so I got pissed off - note facial expression. Anyways, I'm wearing the leather jacket I got thrifting a few posts ago, an Urban Outfitters grey sweater layered over a Hollister henley and Hollister skinny laguna jeans with Naturalizer Oxfords.

Hiiiii. Andrew is at work right now so I have to take selfies in order to have visuals here. Remote wouldn’t fire so I got pissed off – note facial expression. Anyways, I’m wearing the leather jacket I got thrifting a few posts ago, an Urban Outfitters grey sweater layered over a Hollister henley and Hollister skinny laguna jeans with Naturalizer Oxfords.

Tool. I use a MacBook Pro and always have a little Reporter Notebook handy for taking down names and quotes for photo captions when I'm on assignment. I also like to use it during school because it's super accessible and easier than a giant notebook.

Tool. I use a MacBook Pro (this version $1200) and always have a little Reporter Notebook handy for taking down names and quotes for photo captions when I’m on assignment. I also like to use it during school because it’s super accessible and easier than a giant notebook.

Bag of choice today is a Vera Bradley. This style is called the "Vera" and retails for around $90. It has pockets all around the inside, two deep ones and several skinny ones as well as two pockets on either side outside. It's a huge bag but not bulky. It can also be washed. This print is no longer available but they have other nice ones.

Bag of choice today is a Vera Bradley. This style is called the “Vera” and retails for around $90. It has pockets all around the inside, two deep ones and several skinny ones as well as two pockets on either side outside. It’s a huge bag but not bulky. It can also be washed. This print is no longer available but they have other nice ones.

Detail. Easy access button.

Detail. Easy access button.

Shoe detail. These are oxfords by Naturalizer and I got them from DSW for $65. They are a buttery soft leather and have cushions inside so they are extremely comfy. New favorites for running around the city on assignment or going to class.

Shoe detail. These are oxfords by Naturalizer and I got them from DSW for $65. They are a buttery soft leather and have cushions inside so they are extremely comfy. New favorites for running around the city on assignment or going to class.

My desk that I just recently discovered under a pile of useless bullshit that was covering it. It's nice to have a workspace again.

My desk that I just recently discovered under a pile of useless bullshit that was covering it. It’s nice to have a workspace again.

Guys, it isn't magic...I take selfies with a remote.

Guys, it isn’t magic…I take selfies with a remote.

I live on a reallllly busy city street so here's the view from one of my windows. Not so busy at this time but it will be.

I live on a reallllly busy city street so here’s the view from one of my windows. Not so busy at this time but it will be.

Current location. Found this globe at a thrift store, Saver's, for $3.

Current location. Found this globe at a thrift store, Saver’s, for $3.

There you have it, what I look like, what I carry and the tools I use in my double life as a journalist college student. I normally don’t wear a lot of mainstream brands – as hipster as that makes me sound – but Hollister’s jeans fit me perfectly. I’m 5’9″ and have very long legs so the fact that they come in “longs” for the length is awesome. No one likes high waters. I’m also a size three or five and finding longs in those sizes in other brands has been quite difficult. This particular pair I have was around $40 and I’ve had them for almost four years. Kind of like my lucky pants without the traveling sisterhood of doom.

I have a class soon, so I’m wrapping this up but not before I tell you that I just dropped off THREE ROLLS OF FILM FOR PROCESSING. It’s been ages and I really don’t even remember what is on the ones that I just dropped off. Follow my main blog so see the results on Thursday.

6 responses to “First Day of Spring Semester

  1. I hate the sweatpants thing too. I only wore them once and I was deathly ill. Even when I had cramps I tried to get away with it but when I looked in the mirror I always had a little voice inside my head saying you can do better. Also for a thrifty Vera look-alike I get my knock offs at AC Moores and Michaels. They usually have some Vera Bradley look a likes at 70-80% less cost. โค

    • Ya, I wore sweatpants a few semesters ago and I think it actually made me feel worse than I did lol. I feel better, even when I’m sick, when I feel confident in how I look.

      Oh! as for the cheaper Veras – you can get real ones at Uptown Cheapskate for around $20 for the large ones. I forgot to mention that. Really awesome. Whether it’s Vera or not, I love the all cloth type. Who knows what will end up spilling or getting crushed in your bag lol.

Leave a Reply

