Express 40% Sale Haul

My inbox is FLOODED with sale offers and promotions from various sites that I have purchased from in the past. “Free Shipping on Orders over $75!”, “20% Off Purchases of $100+!”, “Buy One Pair Get One Half Off!”.

Blah blah blah. These types of sales usually result in making you spend more than you originally planned to, which pretty much defeats the entire concept of saving money. I have fallen prey to this endless game and you have too.Β But there is one sale that I have a hard time ignoring.

The Express 40% Everything Sale.

Recently I’ve been adding a professional section to my wardrobe. My style is usually that of a more “boho” look but there’s sometimes when you really need to call in the button downs and tailored pants. I’ll be attending graduate school in the fall, so it’s no more playing around. My appearance has to match my professional level of skill. I’m also a sucker for the 1970’s journalist style…crisp button downs, knee length skirts and shoes with ankle straps (for interviews, not for being out in the field – not trying to kill my feet here.)

Express is pretty pricey and I have to really need something professional looking in a hurry to spend that kind of money on one piece. Tailored pants go for around $90 while the button downs range from $50-$75. With their 40% sale you can buy one of everything and not break your bank.

Portafino shirt. This shirt is awesome. Retails for $50-$60 but I got it for $30 this time and as low as $20 other times.

Portafino shirt. This shirt is awesome. Retails for $50-$60 but I got it for $30 this time and as low as $20 other times.

Portafino shirt comes in EVERY COLOR. I love it because it looks like a button down and has a professional look but it's not as stiff as a cotton one would be.

Portafino shirt comes in EVERY COLOR. I love it because it looks like a button down and has a professional look but it’s not as stiff as a cotton one would be. I like to buy them a bit bigger so I can wear them with shorts for a casual look in the summer time.

This pair is the "Ankle" meaning that it hits right above your ankles. Nice option for spring/summer when you want to show off your shoes. Retails for $75 but I got it for $40.

This pair is the “Ankle” meaning that it hits right above your ankles. Nice option for spring/summer when you want to show off your shoes. Retails for $75 but I got it for $40.

Dress. Ok so this dress is awesome, you can wear it during the day with a jacket or blazer but also dress it up for at nighttime. Was $70 but I got it for $30.

Dress. Ok so this dress is awesome, you can wear it during the day with a jacket or blazer but also dress it up for at nighttime. Was $70 but I got it for $40. Feels like a bathing suit inside. It’s form fitting but not so tight you see every roll and lump.

Sequin skirt, so this isn't work related actually but I loved it. You can wear it with a denim jacket for casual or you could dress it up with one of the portafino shirts for nighttime. The inside is really soft so it doesn't itch. Retails $60, got it for $35.

Sequin skirt, so this isn’t work related actually but I loved it. You can wear it with a denim jacket for casual or you could dress it up with one of the portafino shirts for nighttime. The inside is really soft so it doesn’t itch. Retails $60, got it for $35.

Pencil skirt. Retails for $70, got it for $40. It's snug in the butt area and thigh area but forgiving around the waist. Not too short or too long.

Pencil skirt. Retails for $70, got it for $40. It’s snug in the butt area and thigh area but forgiving around the waist. Not too short or too long.

Wedge heels. Retails for $85 and I got them for $30. I'm tall, 5'9", so I don't normally wear heels but they really add to a look and are super comfy.

Wedge heels. Retails for $85 and I got them for $30. I’m tall, 5’9″, so I don’t normally wear heels but they really add to a look and are super comfy.

Not bad. So this last trip I bought one portafino shirt, two skirts, one dress and one pair of tailored pants and spent $190. Not cheap per se but for what I got it’s a great deal. I have done this haul one other time when I first discovered the 40% off deal and in total I know have an entire professional wardrobe – six portafino button downs, tailored pants in black, grey and khaki, two dresses for cocktail, one business skirt and one dressy cocktail skirt and one pair of shoes for less than $400.

My favorite daytime business look for spring. The pants sit right above the ankle strap.

My favorite daytime business look for spring. The portafino top and ankle pants. The pants sit right above the ankle strap.

Detail.

Detail. This particular pair of shoes is from DSW, which were also on sale.

Tailored.

Tailored.

Here's what the blue dress looks like on. Not super short so I don't look like a college freshman going out to the club but it's form fitting enough to still be young.

Here’s what the blue dress looks like on. Not super short so I don’t look like a college freshman going out to the club but it’s form fitting enough to still be young.
Top and shoulder detail.

Top and shoulder detail.

Detail

Detail

Sequin mini with the portafino but I would also wear it with a tank top.

Sequin mini with the portafino but I would also wear it with a tank top.

Skirt detail. I love that it isn't itchy.

Skirt detail. I love that it isn’t itchy.

Meet Cassyus, my little furchild. I just hold her in photos so I feel less awkward modeling.

Meet Cassyus, my little furchild. I just hold her in photos so I feel less awkward modeling.

So there you have it, my first haul on this *new* blog. I think it’s always very important to have a solid wardrobe for professional wear, especially professional wear that you can mix and match with more casual pieces. That’s why I highly recommend this sale, even though their prices may not be the thrift store prices I love. A good business suit will run a couple hundred, so I made out pretty good.

I hate wearing “business attire” because it makes me feel like I’m stifled but these pieces I found at Express allow me to get a bit creative, even if it’s only in the shoes. There’s a fine line between looking professional and looking like you’re trying to be professional and then there’s the little part of looking professional AND effortless. I try to strive for the latter.

Are you a dude? I always try and buy at least one thing for my boyfriend whenever they have this sale as well. Their button downs, which usually retail around $70 I can get for $40 and they fit very well – they have three different fits to choose from.

Men's button downs.

Men’s button downs.

Sweater and button down both Express.

Sweater and button down both Express.

The sale runs till Monday but if you can’t make it don’t worry – they have them almost once a month.

Photographs of me done by Andrew Windham.

17 responses to “Express 40% Sale Haul

      • I shopped onlined, but yes. Hopefully everything fits. I kinda was winging it since it’s the first time I’ve ever really shopped there. I got the same dress as you for a wedding I’m going to, except it’s the color lock grey one!

      • I am a size four in the dress, skirts, and pants and I get a medium in the shirts (because I’m tall) if that helps for comparisons. The dress is stretchy and holds your chest up really well and snug, gave me a bit of a push up actually. I feel like you’d be around the same size as me! But if it doesn’t fit you can always just go back in the store and exchange, I’ve done it and it’s super easy and usually I hate having to do that.

  1. Pingback: Thank You & Tattoo | Better Than Narnia·

Leave a Reply

