Wool, Leather and Cotton : Recent Finds

Soooo I'm a photographer not a model but I guess with this blog I'm both now. Not wearing the tunic pictured below in this shot since it was freezing yesterday. Photo by Andrew Windham.

Soooo I’m a photographer not a model but I guess with this blog I’m both now. Not wearing the tunic pictured below in this shot since it was freezing yesterday. The sweater I’m wearing is a plain grey one from Urban Outfitters. Photo by Andrew Windham.

Since this blog is new, I want to generate a lot of content on it pretty quickly to stop it from looking so sad and naked. I figured I’d post about my most recent thrift store trip from this past Thursday.

I live in Baltimore City – we’ll get to those thrift shops in a few posts – but I happened to be in Towson for the day for a haircut so I decided to meet up with my boyfriend, an avid thrifter himself, and see what we could find.

We went to Uptown Cheapskate in Timonium. I wouldn’t go as far as to call it a thrift shop, it’s more of a consignment shop since their prices depend upon the brand of the piece aka they know what they’re looking at. The way these places obtain their inventory is by inviting people to bring in their little worn and gently worn clothing to exchange for cash or store credit. These types of places are all over and the way to tell if a place is going to be hit or miss is to notice the style of the people in the surrounding area.

People in the area generally have good style? Well, that’s the type of clothing that will be going into those stores. Bad to little personal style in the area? Might just end up with hoodies and jeans and not much variety. Location is KEY.

Usually I end up finding a handful of awesome pieces here with the tags still on them and this day was no exception.

Cotton/Jersey/Silk blend shirt from the brand "Rubbish". It's a size Large but sometimes buying things slightly bigger can allow you to wear it in different ways. This is long enough to be worn as a dress or tunic on me.

Cotton/Jersey/Silk blend shirt from the brand “Rubbish”. It’s a size Large but sometimes buying things slightly bigger can allow you to wear it in different ways. This is long enough to be worn as a dress or tunic on me.

I really like it not only because of the material but because of the little details. I feel like details go forgotten often but they really make a huge different. This shirt still had the original Nordstrom tags on it, priced at $45, and I bought it for $10.

I really like it not only because of the material but because of the little details. I feel like details go forgotten often but they really make a huge different. This shirt still had the original Nordstrom tags on it, priced at $45, and I bought it for $10.

Wool shorts! Wool shorts are hard to find sometimes because no one wears wool in the summer but no one wears shorts in the winter. I paired these with thick black tights and was good to go. I like the plaid pattern but also like how it's not loud since the colors are of the same family.

Wool shorts! Wool shorts are hard to find sometimes because no one wears wool in the summer but no one wears shorts in the winter. I paired these with thick black tights and was good to go. I like the plaid pattern but also like how it’s not loud since the colors are of the same family.

Back view, pockets are always a plus. FUNCTIONAL pockets may I add.

Back view, pockets are always a plus. FUNCTIONAL pockets may I add.

This are Abercrombie & Fitch brand. I used to always shop there until I realized the value of a dollar when I had to buy my own clothes. These didn't have tags but show zero signs of wear. I bought them for $7.

This are Abercrombie & Fitch brand. I used to always shop there until I realized the value of a dollar when I had to buy my own clothes. These didn’t have tags but show zero signs of wear. I bought them for $7.

Ok so this find actually goes to Andrew. I was plowing through all the jackets and he picks this one and and goes, "Cayuteee!". I'm tall so jacket finding is difficult because of my long arms. This is a size small and fit perfect.

Ok so this find actually goes to Andrew. I was plowing through all the jackets and he picks this one and and goes, “Cayuteee!”. I’m tall so jacket finding is difficult because of my long arms. This is a size small and fit perfect.

I'm a sucker for cute hidden patterns.

I’m a sucker for cute hidden patterns.

Front view. The style isn't quite moto jacket but zips up to the side which I really like. It shows no signs of wear and I bought it for $15.

Front view. The style isn’t quite moto jacket but zips up to the side which I really like. It shows no signs of wear and I bought it for $15.

Those three pieces together cost me $33. I’d say it was a successful trip. I usually try and look for pieces I can mix and match with others and wear in multiple seasons. If you want to go here, it’s all the way down York Road North, past the Fairgrounds in the same shopping center as Chipotle, Subway and Starbucks.

Like I said before, I wear the shorts with black tights since it's cold out. I don't think I'd wear them in the summer since the material is wool. The bag is not from a thrift shop but from a small Australian company I plan on doing a post about soon.

Like I said before, I wear the shorts with black tights since it’s cold out. I don’t think I’d wear them in the summer since the material is wool. The bag is not from a thrift shop but from a small Australian company I plan on doing a post about soon. Photo by Andrew Windham.

This post is a pretty basic glimpse into what I get whenever I go thrift shopping, so if you like the type of stuff I find please continue to read and follow me. I always try to find an entire outfit to make the trip worthwhile. 

7 responses to “Wool, Leather and Cotton : Recent Finds

  1. Love this blog. Everything is fabulous…..you look great in them….I’d never believe those clothes were from a thriftshop if you hadn’t told us. Can’t wait for your next post!

    • Thanks! I try to make it as quick and easy as possible while also keeping it visually appealing. Short, quick descriptions with big detailed photos are a lot quicker of a way to inform you guys over long drawn out paragraphs.

      Thanks for your comment 😀

  2. Pingback: Thank You & Tattoo | Better Than Narnia·

Leave a Reply

