Warby Parker Home Try-On

The Ripley made me a little sassy, so don't judge me.

The Ripley made me a little sassy, so don’t judge me.

I was aimlessly scrolling through Facebook one day when I came across one of those ads that pop up on your newsfeed. I usually ignore those types of ads because I find them kinda creepy but it said one of my friends (whose style I really dig) “liked” this company so I decided to investigate. 

I’ve been needing glasses for awhile now – my eyes take a pretty heavy strain from shooting all day and then staring at a computer screen for hours between editing and blogging – but getting glasses seemed like such a daunting task. The company Facebook *ever so kindly* suggested to me was Warby Parker. I went to their website and saw it was pretty well designed so I decided to give it a go (I’m a multimedia journalist, so yes, I do judge companies based on how well their website is designed). They had so many frames! I saw they were only online and I was wishing I could try them on when I saw they had a home try-on trial….for free.

Free, you say? FREE. I’m all for free things.

I was skeptical. Like a good media law student, I read all the Terms & Conditions and found out, yep, it truly was a free trial. The only catch I found was that you have to return the glasses in five days to avoid getting charged for them, because you know, that’s stealing if you don’t give them back, so the answer to the question you’re wondering is YES, you do have to put in your credit card number. I did it and in two days a cute little black box of the five glasses I chose arrived on my doorstep complete with a box and return shipping label.

The glasses are all non-perscription, so you can wear them out and about to test drive the styles and see how your friends and family react to them on your face. Pretty cool.

They came in this sleek little black box. I'm a sucker for packaging.

They came in this sleek little black box. I’m a sucker for packaging.

Little babies all lined up ready to go.

Little babies all lined up ready to go.

They suggest trying the glasses on, taking photos of yourself aka the glasses selfie, and uploading to social media to get responses and advice. So, Warby Parker, here I am.

They suggest trying the glasses on, taking photos of yourself aka the glasses selfie, and uploading to social media to get responses and advice. So, Warby Parker, here I am.

Ok, so the ones I choose were the “Begley”, the “Watts” in Newspaper Grey, the “Edgeworth”, the “Ripley”, and the “Chandler Pinot Noir”. All of them, if I chose to buy one, are $95 each with the exception of the “Ripley” which is $145.

Soooo obviously these were fun to play around with. Most of these frame options are from the oval and square categories. I have never owned a pair of glasses in my life, so they’re weird and it’s going to take some getting used to but contacts terrify me so I guess I don’t have a choice. From a style perspective….they reallllllly change your whole look. They also have a men’s section as well, so if you’re a dude reading this…or a girl who just wants men’s glasses, check out that section as well.

A nice comparison. I am choosing between the Ripley and the Chandler. The main difference is that the first has no frames on the bottom and the other does.

A nice comparison. I am choosing between the Ripley and the Chandler. The main difference is that the first has no frames on the bottom and the other does.

Another reason, aside from the cool free home try-on deal, that I really like this company is because of their “Buy a Pair, Give a Pair” agreement. Much like Tom’s Shoes, Warby will give a pair of glasses to someone in need for every pair bought. Apparently, something like 1 billion people don’t have access to proper vision help and not having that hinders their ability to work and learn. Since last summer, they’ve been able to give 500,000 pairs of glasses and that’s something I can get behind.

That’s a wrap for my very first post on this new blog of mine. If you haven’t, be sure to check out my other blog, 120Pearls, if you enjoy film photography, vintage cameras and toy cameras. 😉

One thing I learned is that it is REALLY hard to take photos of people, especially yourself, in glasses. Mad props to all you glasses wearing people that take nice photographs. These took me a few trys and then I gave up and wound up with this photo.

One thing I learned is that it is REALLY hard to take photos of people, especially yourself, in glasses. Mad props to all you glasses wearing people that take nice photographs. These took me a few trys and then I gave up and wound up with this photo.

12 responses to “Warby Parker Home Try-On

    • I agree, the definitely came up with a genius marketing idea when they came up with the home-try on. Another blog called it the “Netflix of glasses” which was a really cool analogy.

    • I agree, especially when you have more choices available than just the ten or so they have in regular stores. It’s nice to be able to try them on without committing to anything and feeling pressured to choose.

  1. What a great idea and fantastic review! I am in need of new glasses and can never seem to find ones I love in stores.

    • Try it! I’ve tried ones on in stores before just for fun and I always thought I looked terrible in them. This site has so many different styles and you can narrow it down by shape that I actually found a few that fit my face.

  2. Wow….what a great idea. I’ve never heard of Warby Parker, but I’m sure after this blog, many people who are thinking of and need glasses will be trying them. Of your photos , I love the way you look in the last pair of glasses ( #5 far right)……. get them! ! ! Great blog ….keep up the fabulous work!

  3. Pingback: Thank You & Tattoo | Better Than Narnia·

Leave a Reply

